Expertise

ORDECSYS offers consulting and development services for the elaboration of decision support models in the fields of logistics and sustainable development management.

 

ORDECSYS is a research and consulting company created in 2003 by professors and researchers from the University of Geneva. Since then, it has been providing methods and tools for techno-economic analysis within the framework of international research programmes and consultancy contracts. ORDECSYS specialises in optimisation, game theory and decision making in situations of uncertainty. ORDECSYS applies these methods, in particular to energy transition modelling and climate change economics.

ORDECSYS also assists its clients in assessing the economic impact of major events (trade shows, congresses, events). ORDECSYS participates in the dissemination of sustainable development methods for the design of gravity-based water distribution networks (NGO Agua Para la Vita). Finally, ORDECSYS promotes the use of robust optimization for risk management.

 

 

 

Energy transition

ORDECSYS is particularly active in the analysis of the transition of energy/electric systems towards sustainability in different contexts of interconnection, economic development, penetration of smart grids and intermittent generation technologies.

In particular, ORDECSYS develops short-, medium- and long-term energy production management models. ORDECSYS also implements integrated models for evaluating energy and environmental policies. These models apply at the international, national and urban community levels.

image

ETEM-SG

A tool for optimising the energy transition

ORDECSYS has developed ETEM-SG, the latest version of the ETEM family of models adapted to the representation of smart grids in regional energy systems. ETEM-SG is a tool to assist in the design of a master plan for the energy system of an urban region. It has been designed by ORDECSYS by adapting the MARKAL-LITE model developed at the LOGILAB of the University of Geneva (HEC).

ETEM-SG optimizes energy options

ETEM-SG represents in details (location and installed capacities) the energy system of a region or agglomeration. The reference energy system is broken down into primary energies (gas, water, wood, coal, geothermal, etc.), final energies (electricity, gas, fuels, heat, hot water, etc.) and useful energies (energy services required, e.g. transport, air conditioning, etc.). A set of technologies (thermal, hydraulic, solar, geothermal, etc.) ensure the transformations along the energy chain in order to satisfy the useful demands. In doing so, ETEM-SG calculates a map of air pollutant and greenhouse gas emissions related to the use and location of these technologies.

ETEM-SG, a decision support tool adapted to an uncertain world

ETEM-SG can deal with the uncertainty of certain data, for example, heating demand, electricity price, performance of the next generation of luminaire, cost of installing a power plant or network, etc. ETEM-SG proposes an optimal cover decision that is robust to the modelled uncertainty.

ETEM-SG is free, adaptable and sustainable

ETEM-SG formulates a linear programming problem (in deterministic or stochastic version).  ETEM-SG is a free software written in a free programming language and uses free optimization programs. The model is written in GMPL, a free algebraic modelling language, a subset of AMPL, and the optimiser used is glpsol. Since it is free and written in a free interpreted language, ETEM-SG is open to any specific addition, as long as the problem addressed remains within the framework of linear programming.

 

Climate agreement

 

ORDECSYS has participated in several projects of the European programmes and research on the economics of climate change. ORDECSYS contributed to develop a game-theoretic approach for the economic evaluation of possible climate agreements that would be compatible with the objectives of the Paris agreement.
The approach is based on a meta game model, where the gains of different country coalitions are evaluated using econometric methods applied to a large sample of simulations of a global general equilibrium model (see publications section).

image

 

Economic Impact Assessment

 

ORDECSYS has developed a Bottom-up analysis of the expenses of the different groups of actors involved in major events, such as the Geneva International Motor Show or Telecom. This tool makes it possible to assess the direct economic impact for the canton of Geneva of all the events managed by PALEXPO, the Geneva Exhibition and Convention Centre. Thanks to the use of an "input-output" table, the indirect or induced effect of this expenditure on the Canton's economy is also evaluated.

image

 

Systems simulation & optimisation

 

ORDECSYS develops large-scale optimisation and simulation models in various fields. In particular, it has developed models for smart grids and the integration of variable renewable energies in electrical systems, as well as models for the design of gravity water supply systems and optimization models for the design of gas transmission networks.

 

NEATWORK

Designing drinking water supply systems

In particular, ORDECSYS actively participates in the development and maintenance of Neatwork, a software for the design of gravity-fed drinking water supply systems for the NGO Agua Para La Vida, which works with rural communities in Nicaragua.

More information about Neatwork.

image

 

Risk management

 

ORDECSYS promotes the use of stochastic and dynamic programming methods coupled with robust optimisation to develop decision models under uncertainty. Areas of application include risk management in finance, development of water resources or renewable energy, and climate risk management.

image
Operations research
Decisions
Systems
ORDECSYS is a research and consultancy firm created in 2003 by professors and researchers from the University of Geneva. Since then, it has been providing methods and tools for techno-economic analysis within the framework of international research and consultancy contracts. ORDECSYS is specialized in systems optimization, decision under uncertainty and risk management. ORDECSYS applies these methods, in particular to modeling the energy transition and the economics of climatic change.

Expertise

Energy transition
Climate change economics
Economic impact assessment
Systems simulation and optimization
Robust decision analysis

Expertise

ORDECSYS  offre des services de conseil et de développement pour l'élaboration de modèles d'aide à la décision dans les domaines de la logistique et de la gestion du développement durable.

ORDECSYS est une société de recherche et de conseil créée en 2003 par des professeurs et des chercheurs de l'Université de Genève. Depuis lors, elle fournit des méthodes et des outils d'analyse technico-économique dans le cadre de programmes internationaux de recherche et de contrats de consultation. ORDECSYS s'est spécialisée dans l'optimisation des systèmes, la théorie des jeux et la décision en situation d'incertitude.  ORDECSYS applique ces méthodes, en particulier à la modélisation de la transition énergétique et à l'économie du changement climatique.

ORDECSYS assiste également ses clients pour l'évaluation des retombées économiques des grands événements (salons, congrès, manifestations). ORDECSYS participe à la diffusion de méthodes de développement durable pour la conception de réseaux de distribution d'eau basés sur la gravité (NGO Agua Parala Vita). Enfin, ORDECSYS promeut l'utilisation de l'optimisation robuste pour la gestion du risque.

 

 

 

 Transition énergétique

ORDECSYS est particulièrement active dans l'analyse de la transition des systèmes énergétiques/électriques vers la durabilité dans différents contextes d'interconnexion, de développement économique, de pénétration des réseaux intelligents et des technologies à productions intermittentes.

ORDECSYS développe notamment des modèles de gestion de la production d'énergie à court, moyen et long terme. ORDECSYS met également en oeuvre des modèles intégrés d'évaluation des politiques énergétiques et environnementales. Ces modèles s'appliquent au niveau international, national et au niveau des communautés urbaines.

image

ETEM-SG

Un outil pour optimiser la transition énergétique

ORDECSYS a développé ETEM-SG, la dernière version du modèle ETEM adaptée à la représentation des réseaux intelligents dans les systèmes énergétiues régionaux. ETEM-SG est un outil d'aide à la conception d'un plan directeur du système énergétique d'une région urbaine. Il a été conçu par ORDECSYS en adaptant le modèle MARKAL-LITE développé au LOGILAB de l'Université de Genève (HEC).

ETEM-SG optimise les options énergétiques

ETEM-SG permet de représenter en détails (localisation et capacités installées) le système énergétique d'une région ou d'une agglomération. Le système énergétique de référence est décomposé en énergies primaires (gaz, eau, bois, charbon, géothermie, etc.), énergies finales (électricité, gaz, carburants, chaleur, eau chaude, etc.) et énergies utiles (services énergétiques demandés,par exemple transport, climatisation, etc). Un ensemble de technologies (centrale thermique, hydraulique, solaire, géothermique, etc.) assurent les transformations le long de la chaîne énergétique afin de satisfaire les demandes utiles. Ce faisant, ETEM-SG calcule un cadastre d'émissions de polluants atmosphériques et de gaz à effet de serre lié à l'utilisation et à la localisation de ces technologies.

ETEM-SG, un outil d'aide à la décision adapté à un monde incertain

ETEM-SG peut traiter l'incertitude concernant certaines données, par exemple la demande en chauffage, le prix de l'électricité, le rendement de la prochaine génération de luminaire, le coût d'installation d'une centrale ou d'un réseau, etc. ETEM-SG propose une décision de couverture optimale qui est robuste face à l'incertitude modélisée.

ETEM-SG est libre, adaptable et durable

ETEM-SG formule un problème de programmation linéaire (en version déterministe ou stochastique).  ETEM-SG est un logiciel libre écrit dans un language de programmation libre et utilise des programmes d'optimisation libres. Le modèle est écrit en GMPL, language de modélisation algébrique libre, sous-ensemble d'AMPL, et l'optimiseur utilisé est glpsol. Puisque libre et écrit dans un language interprété libre, ETEM-SG est ouvert à tout ajout spécifique, tant que le problème traité reste dans le cadre de la programmation linéaire.

 

Accords climatiques

 

ORDECSYS a participé à plusieurs projets des programmes Européens et recherches FP-6 et FP7 sur l'économie du changement climatique. ORDECSYS a contribué à  développer une approche par la théorie des jeux pour l'évaluation économique d'éventuels accords sur le climat qui seraient compatibles avec les objectifs de l'accord de Paris.
L'approche est basée sur un modèle de méta-jeu, où les gains des différentes coalitions de pays sont évalués à l'aide de méthodes économétriques appliquées à un large échantillon de simulations d'un modèle d'équilibre général mondial (voir la section publications).

image

 

Evaluation des retombées économiques

 

ORDECSYS a développé une analyse ascendante (Bottom-up) des dépenses des différents groupes d'acteurs intervenant dans les grands événements, comme le Salon international de l'automobile de Genève ou Telecom. Cet outil permet d'évaluer l'impact économique direct pour le canton de Genève de tous les événements gérés par PALEXPO, le Centre d'expositions et de congrès de Genève. Grâce à l'utilisation d'un tableau « input-output », on évalue également l'effet indirect ou induit de ces dépenses sur l'économie du canton.

image

 

Simulation et optimisation des systèmes

 

ORDECSYS développe des modèles d'optimisation et de simulation à grande échelle dans différents domaines. Elle a notamment développé des modèles pour les réseaux intelligents et l'intégration des énergies renouvelables variables dans les systèmes électriques ainsi que des modèles pour la conception de systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau par gravité et des modèles d'optimisation pour la conception de réseaux de transport de gaz.

 

NEATWORK

Conception de réseaux d'eau

En particulier, ORDECSYS participe activement au développement et à la maintnance de Neatwork, logiciel de conception de systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable par gravité, pour l'ONG Agua Para La Vida qui intervient auprès des communautés rurales du Nicaragua.

Plus d'information sur Neatwork.

image

 

Gestion du risque

 

ORDECSYS encourage l'utilisation de la programmation stochastique, de la programmation dynamique stochastique couplées à l'optimisation robuste pour développer des modèles de décision dans l'incertain. Les domaines d'application comprennent la gestion des risques en finance, le développement des ressources en eau et des énergies renouvelables et la gestion des risques climatiques.

image
Operations research
Decisions
Systems
ORDECSYS est une société de recherche et de conseil créée en 2003 par des professeurs et des chercheurs de l'Université de Genève. Depuis lors, elle fournit des méthodes et des outils d'analyse technico-économique dans le cadre de contrats internationaux de recherche et de conseil. ORDECSYS est spécialisée dans l'optimisation des systèmes, la décision en situation d'incertitude et la gestion des risques. ORDECSYS applique ces méthodes, en particulier, à la modélisation de la transition énergétique et à l'économie du changement climatique.

Expertise

Transition énergétique
Economie du changement climatique
Evaluation des retombées économiques
Optimisation et simulation des systèmes
Analyse de décision robuste